Let me tell you a story about mornings..(A prayer for the saints)

And in the morning, rising up a great while before day( before sunrise), he(Jesus) went out, and departed into a solitary place, and there prayed. Mark 1:35

So here we see a verse that like many verses in the four gospels, describes Jesus going alone to pray to the Father. Now we know we’re to fallow Jesus, He’s our example. I’ve heard some people say that the best time, or even the only time to spend time alone with God is in the morning. Here’s Jesus in the early morning after all. Some swear by this, saying if you don’t do it in the morning, it’ll never get done. Not constantly anyway. They often say it’s best because it’s at the start of your day and will have you ready to face the rest of it. Well let me tell you a story.

I had a routine, I’d read my Bible and pray before going to bed. I prayed all the time, but this was that alone time. This was that Bible time. It was about 80% successful. After a while I didn’t think 80% was good enough.  I always heard this morning thing…..I’m not a morning person. It takes me a while to wake up and be able to have a conversation, asking me something important is in the morning is not a good idea. “What is he(my husband saying?”

So it might take a while to get going, but I mornings it was. I’d heard so may greats say it was best!  Now I had a success rate of about 30%. I tried getting up before my kids, who were little at the time. This should’ve given me plenty of time to wake up. Trouble was I had this cute little boy, who seemed to always know when I was up and always seemed to be hungry. So this “Alone time” wasn’t happening in the morning. Maybe it was the devil waking him up, I don’t know, but I do know it didn’t work. So I tried something else, 4 pm.  Not morning but I wouldn’t fall asleep. This seemed like a time of day my little ones seemed content and my older daughter had been home for about a while. Cartoons too. So Cartoons it was and the older one could help. Didn’t work.…..back to the night shift. 80%. There’d be other times I’d prepping to teach a bible study class. Oh yes I was in my study with the door shut and my family knew I was not to be disturbedNOT. More like I had a three year old hanging on my head or playing at my feet. It wasn’t always like this but there were times it was the only option. The best way? Probably not, but it was what it was. Honestly it worked because God is that good, He worked it for me.

My kids have gotten older, things have changed. I don’t remember when I stopped doing my night time routine but I have. I do at times have my Bible app in bed with me, but it’s not a routine. The funny thing is this:  For years I was told that I had to have a certain time for Bible and prayer set everyday, and for years I missed the mark. Then at some point I just realized  that I had no routine time going, in the word and prayer, yet I couldn’t remember the last time I went a whole day without it. I really can’t. Not just not going without it, but a lot more of it too!

So am I not fallowing Jesus because I’m not having alone time with God first thing in the morning? Well it may not be hard to imagine, after My explained my mornings, but I do spend time. I pray for the Lord to help me get up and going.  I’ve asked the lord to help be understand what “he’s(my husband) saying to me.”Alone of not in my mind, trust me, no one else is there. That connection with God, isn’t just to fulfill my need it’s a habit I no longer have to remind myself of.

Am I wrong for not having a set time? Well from what I read, Jesus didn’t either. He would go off and pray at all different times, and He did it often. I’m not like some people. Being a introvert I don’t have to latterly leave to be away from the group. I spend most of my life this way as it is, so I might as well spend it with my Lord. This may not be you, but He is good enough to provide you with alone time, one way or another.

The funny thing is, all the years I was told that if I schedule a time it would never happen. When I didn’t schedule a time, it did happen! Now my kids all being older has differently made this more possible I recognize that. But I find myself in the word of God many times through out the day. That being said I do make plans to as well. But that plan isn’t the same time everyday and is a lose plan.

Don’t think I’m speaking against discipline. I’m not, I believe in it. I believe it can also be a great way to start something new or challenging.  I don’t attribute this to being undisciplined. I attribute this to a change in my heart. Or maybe a better  way of describing it is a growing of heart. I have found that the more I seek God, the more I want to seek Him. The more I disciplined myself, the less I needed to. While I have had to remind myself at times, if the day is winding down and I haven’t had time in the word of God, I hunger for it. I’m starved if I don’t.

Jesus went off to pray often, He is our example. I’m not saying you shouldn’t have a set time. I’m not saying. that if you’ve been planing on having one, you shouldn’t. Do what works for you. But here is my prayer:

Father I thank you for Your word, in my heart. I thank You that your yolk is easy and you burden is light. That the more I surrender my life to You,the easier it is for me to further surrender it. I thank you for the easy access to your word in this place and time. I pray that we won’t take it for granted. That we would hunger for at as much as if it was hard to find. Your word is precious to us Lord. I pray that distractions form spending time in Your word and prayer would not win the day. I thank you for Your grace that even when we let distraction, grab us form You, your still there. I pray that we would just lean on and live our lives for You. Praying always, cherishing Your word always. You after all sustain of our lives. Thank You for the cross, that brings us to You, thank You for the resurrection that gives us new life! Thank you that Your coming back again. We can hardly wait for that day. In Jesus precious name, Amen.

 

 

 

Leave a comment